I lost my freedom

This is it. This will be the memories. 29 years is ringing hard in my ears.

It’s upsetting to always be the young one in the eyes of the elders, but they never know what they are talking about. I do feel 3 decades on my body and it’s just a sign for what’s to come.

It started about 12 years ago, my friend and I went for a road trip, hitchhiking trip. After the 1000 km mark, when we finally reached a place called the end of the world, I couldn’t do it anymore. I had to live it with my oneself, the wild, the vast untamed uncontrolled Canada.

In my backpack:

  • a sleeping bag
  • 2 tarps
  • Way too much clothes
  • One hand axe (don’t get me started on this I know it was a bad idea)
  • Some food
  • Money (maybe a gran)
  • Rain pants and jacket

Find the mistake here, no tent, of course no tent, tents are useless. God knows it rains in Newfoundland. First night in Nova Scotia taught me a lesson, if you’re going for the tarp setup better grab 100′ of rope too. When it’s pouring in the forest you can’t sleep in between 2 layered tarps.

At least when it’s raining people don’t care too much about the 2 feet of hair bunch up behind your head. In the East, they pick you up. There ain’t no bad people there, 2 murders per year and one of them is a guy that thought it was nice to hang out close to the buck on mating season.

Talking of moose, I learned on that trip that when you pitch (even you’re non-tent) always check the earth for trails. On an island the size of Tennessee with 150,000 moose (yes plural has no “s”), you will probably have your encounter. Mine was ground vibration, noises in the dark, a restless night and a soaked sleeping bag. Money can’t help you with that.

On trips like that you have to meet decent people and you do.

Those three 50 years old that we’re living the Westfalia dreaming and taking shower in any campsite. The lady winked: “Being old isn’t always bad, people throw their thrust at you!”

The two ladies that were cycling the whole province with all the might a 25 years old can have. One was amazingly beautiful. Never saw them again. The paper with their phones (emails!?) got wet and discolored.

I’ll leave what happened to me in Tadoussac for another time, but to put it simply I learned that it was easy. Once the first step is through the door and you expose yourself to the world, the rest is easy.

If you ask me what pushed the 17 years old to do this, I could answer that I was a really stubborn kid. Stubborn with himself, the inside combat was hard at that time. One moment on the side of the road when the wind was good, the first enlightenment of my life, that was it. There were no turning back.

I lost my freedom.

Leave a Reply

